New FL Child Support Guidelines
by Jenn from Jacksonville, Florida, Duval County
Under the new Florida law for child support that took effect in January 2011, does the non custodial parent pay more in child support or less?
Answer to Florida Child Support Question
The child support amount is calculated according to both parents' incomes.
I have not compared the old form to the new form closely enough yet to be sure of all of the changes.
A few things I did notice are:
The minimum amount of combined income for calculating child support now begins at a combined income of $800. per month; when before it began at $650.
The way that health insurance and day care is calculated is now 100% of amounts paid, when before it was 80%, I believe. This change was made to make the child support guidelines correspond to federal income tax filings.FL Child Support Guidelines Change With the Most Impact
And third, and this does affect noncustodial parents – the threshold for using the gross-up method of calculating child support has changed.
If the noncustodial parent has the child with him/her at least 20% of the time, the gross up method can be used. In the past, this method could only be used if the noncustodial parent had the child for at least 40% of the time. Notice:
We provide these answers
to the general public and our website visitors as a means to further their online legal research. These answers are merely suggestions and should not be regarded as legal advice.
If you need legal advice, we recommend LagalMatch's free Lawyer Referral Service. Many lawyers offer free initial consultations. Get the legal advice you deserve.Free Family Lawyer Referral
You Are Here → Home › Child Support Questions › New FL Child Support Guidelines